MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 10, 2012 AT 6:00 P.M., AT THE BOARD OFFICES, 830 POWERS STREET, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA, R2V 4E7.

PRESENT	Derek Dabee	Trustee
	Ric Dela Cruz	Trustee
	Teresa Jaworski	Trustee
	Cory Juan	Trustee
	Bill McGowan	Trustee
	Evelyn Myskiw	Trustee
	Edward P. Ploszay	Trustee
	Claudia Sarbit	Trustee
	Richard Sawka	Trustee

IN ATTENDANCE Brian O'Leary Superintendent

Duane Brothers
Lydia Hedrich
Edie Wilde
Wayne Shimizu

Assistant Superintendent
Assistant Superintendent
Assistant Superintendent
Secretary-Treasurer

Gaylene Schroeder-Nishimura Asst. Secretary-Treasurer Donna Herold Administrative Assistant

Wayne Shimizu in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Sarbit nominated Trustee Ploszay.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations to be closed.

12B-001 - Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Ploszay was declared elected by acclamation Chairperson of the Board.

VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Jaworski nominated Trustee Sarbit. Trustee Dabee nominated Trustee Juan.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations to be close.

12B-002 - Vice-Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Sarbit was declared elected Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Trustee Ploszay in the Chair.

CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS SEVEN OAKS TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION

Trustee Jaworski nominated Trustee Sawka.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations to be closed.

12B-003 - Co-Chair of Negotiations - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association

Trustee Sawka was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Teachers' Association.

CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES

Trustee McGowan nominated Trustee Dela Cruz.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

12B-004 – Co-Chair of Negotiations – Canadian Union of Public Employees

Trustee Dela Cruz was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the C.U.P.E. Locals No. 731, 949, 2938.

CO CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANTS OF SEVEN OAKS

Trustee Sawka nominated Trustee Jaworski.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

12B-005 – Co-Chair of Negotiations – Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks

Trustee Jaworski was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks.

REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES - STANDING COMMITTEES

12B-006 – Representatives to Other Bodies – Standing Committees

- Policy Manual Committee: Trustees Dabee, Jaworski and McGowan.
- Workplace Safety and Health Committee: Trustee Myskiw.
- Accident Review Committee: Trustees Sarbit and Sawka.
- Board / SOTA P.D. Committee: Trustees Sarbit and Sawka.
- Educational Leave Committee: Trustees Juan and Myskiw.
- Board / SOTA Staff Advisory Committee: Trustees Dabee, Juan, and Sarbit.
- Board / Student Liaison Committee: Trustees Sawka and Sarbit.
- Negotiations Committees:
 - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association: Trustees Sawka (Chair), Juan and Myskiw.
 - Canadian Union of Public Employees, Locals #731, #949 and #2938: Trustees Dela Cruz (Chair), Dabee and McGowan.
 - Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks: Trustees Jaworski (Chair), Juan and Sarbit.

12B-007 - Representatives on External Committees

- City of Winnipeg Liaison: The Board will send the Chair.
- Metro Coordinating Committee: Board will send Co-Chairs of Negotiations.

12B-008 - Auditors

Sarbit / Myskiw

That the auditors for the Seven Oaks School Division for the 2012-2013 school year be K.P.M.G. LLP.

CARRIED

12B-009 - Solicitor

Myskiw / Dela Cruz

That the solicitors for the Seven Oaks School Division be on a fee for service basis.

12B-010 - Signing Officers

McGowan / Juan

That the signing officers for the Board be the Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson; and the Secretary-Treasurer or the Superintendent. CARRIED

1	2R	-01	1	— E	Ral	lots

Dela Cruz / Jaworski That the ballots be destroyed.		CARRIED
ADJOURNMENT		
The meeting adjourned at 6:16 p.m.		
Chairperson	Secretary-Treasurer	